MENTAL BAGGAGE


2monks∞ Tanzan and Ekido were once traveling together down a muddy road. A heavy rain was still falling.

Coming around a bend, they met a lovely girl in a silk kimono and sash, unable to cross the intersection.

“Come on, girl” said Tanzan at once. Lifting her in his arms, he carried her over the mud.

Ekido did not speak again until that night when they reached a lodging temple. Then he no longer could restrain himself. “We monks don’t go near females,” he told Tanzan, “especially not young and lovely ones. It is dangerous. Why did you do that?”

“I left the girl there,” said Tanzan. “Are you still carrying her?”

13 Comments

Filed under Humor, Religion

13 responses to “MENTAL BAGGAGE

  1. That is one of my favorites Sekan. Good to see you back. I hope that concert was good.

    • The concert was great.
      Shawn played some stuff he hasn’t done in 30+ years.

      I post this little Buddhist proverb from time to time, I JUST LIKE IT!
      It also reminds me of SP lyrics.

  2. jammer5

    Say, isn’t that the Buddhist Ronald McDonald in the background?

  3. Great little anecdote . . . and very timely, because two nights ago I came out of a Wal Mart (I didn’t succumb and buy anything), and a Buddhist monk in orange saffron robes was walking in. It just seemed weird, and then perfectly normal. I always try to avoid Wal Mart because of their treatment of employees, and the delusional rants of their CEO (“We’re all a big family here”), but when you gotta get something cheap and there it is . . . well, there it is. I have no idea what I’m writing anymore . . .

  4. One month from today, I will no longer have a computer. My baby daughter is now 18 and will be taking this laptop to college with her.

    Nandesuka?! You can still get thee to a local library or Apple store (just don’t save passwords and remember to clear cache, cookies, and history before you close the browser).

    I know there’s deep wisdom to this story, but all I can see is something ghostly.

    Black and white Japanese ghostly.

Leave a Reply

